‘Yozo’ chases country cups double

Provincial star Yozo Bale is attempting to become only the sixth greyhound to capture the Group 2 Bendigo Cup-Ballarat Cup double.

Back in July, Yozo Bale and Tiggerlong Tonk provided Mount Wallace trainer Correy Grenfell, 26, with the Bendigo Cup quinella.

And on Saturday night, Yozo Bale is chasing a $47,000 first prize in the BFC Ballarat Cup final (450m) – Race 8 at 8.48pm.

WATCH: Yozo Bale (8) clocks 25.40sec taking out a G2 Ballarat Cup heat last week.

He will join Tivoli Man (1993/1994), Lansley Bale (1998), Tom’s Legacy (1999), Puzzle Prize (2003) and Ronan Izmir (2013) as winners of this illustrious country cups double if successful.

Owned by Janice Wheeler, Yozo Bale (Mar ’18 Fernando Bale x Purcell Bale) was the slowest heat winner (25.40sec), but he’s a $2.80 favourite after drawing the coveted ‘cherry’ trap.

He recorded a sizzling 21.74sec win over 390m at Ballarat in the lead-up to the Cup series. It was less than two lengths off the longstanding 21.64sec track record, set by Arizona Dozer in January 2013.

“He’s had a few hock issues, but he does his best racing from the inside and is back at his best now,” Grenfell said. “He’s a dog that can break 25 seconds at Ballarat and 450 metres is ideal for him.”

And Grenfell added: “He’s capable of breaking hearts early and if he’s out in front, he’ll be hard to catch. I’m more confident than not considering he’s got the ‘red’. He looks the likely leader, but I think Short Pork (Box 4) is the main danger.”

Yozo Bale has raced on 39 occasions for 17 wins, 11 seconds and one third, with $109,516 in prizemoney. And he’s notched 11 wins (with five seconds and one third) from his past 21 starts. He was also a G2 Geelong Gold Cup finalist.

(Fastest to slowest):

25.16sec Daniel Avocado
25.20sec Special Talent
25.28sec Fortuna Bale
25.35sec Tinker Craig
25.36sec Short Pork
25.40sec Yozo Bale

How to follow Saturday night’s Ballarat Cup Final:

  • Facebook Live coverage at www.facebook.com/GRVictoria from 8pm
  • Watch LIVE and FREE on The Watchdog app, watchdog.grv.org.au or on Sky Racing.
  • RSN Racing and Sport (927 AM) & SEN Track (1593 AM).
  • Live Twitter coverage with ‘@WatchDogRacing’

Related posts