Winning Ways crowned Qld Horse of the Year

Queensland Oaks winner Winning Ways has been crowned Queensland Horse of the Year.

Queensland Oaks winner Winning Ways has been crowned Horse of the Year at the Queensland Thoroughbred Awards.

The Garry Newham-trained Winning Ways, Queensland’s sole Group One winner in 2018/19, was also named the state’s Three-Year-Old of the Year at Sunday night’s function in Brisbane.

Her owner Paul Makin died the week before the Oaks and his friend Newham paid an emotional tribute to him.

Makin brought Newham out of retirement to train a number of horses for him after their past association with multiple Group One winner Starcraft.

In the Trainer of the Year Award, Tony Gollan won for a sixth occasion, adding it to his metropolitan premiership win.

Having steered The Bostonian to Group One success in the Doomben 10,000 and the Kingsford Smith Cup, Michael Cahill was named Jockey of the Year.

RQ inducted five members into the Hall of Fame with Bore Head, one of the state’s premier stayers who won the 1963 Queensland Cup, 1964 Ipswich Cup, 1965 Caulfield Cup, the 1967 Australian Cup and the 1967 Doomben Cup, acknowledged for his accomplishments.

Fresh off his record-equalling 11th Hong Kong premiership win, John Size was inducted as a Hall of Fame trainer, while Noel Best, who announced himself as a force to reckoned with at just 16 when he piloted Murray Stream to victory in the Doomben 10,000, was acknowledged for his feats in the saddle.

The voice of the Darling Downs, experienced broadcaster Pat O’Shea, was inducted as an associate, as was former Tattersall’s Club President, Sir Albert Sakzewski.

“Winning Ways was the standout thoroughbred performance over the season,” RQ chief executive Brendan Parnell said.

“She’s developed into a very nice mare, but she had to fight off three legitimate contenders in Tyzone, Winter Bride and Zoustyle.”

“Tony Gollan has been a consistent force in our training ranks and thoroughly deserves his sixth Trainer of the Year Award, while Michael Cahill enjoyed an outstanding winter carnival and year as a whole.”

“It was also a huge thrill to be able to acknowledge our Hall of Fame inductees, including Pat O’Shea, who served as an early mentor of mine.”

While edged out for the night’s top gong, Tyzone, who won the Listed Goldmarket Handicap and the Group 3 BRC Sprint for trainer Toby Edmonds – as well as finishing second in the Stradbroke Handicap – was named the Older Horse of the Year.

The Kelly Schweida-trained The Odyssey was awarded the Two-Year-Old Horse of the Year after winning four of seven starts including the $500,000 2YO Jewel at the Gold Coast.

2019 TAB Queensland Thoroughbred Award Winners:

Horse of the Year: Winning Ways

Trainer: Tony Gollan

Jockey: Michael Cahill

Apprentice: Baylee Nothdurft

Premier trainer: Tony Gollan

Premier Jockey: Jeff Lloyd

Premier Apprentice: Baylee Nothdurft

Provincial Apprentice: Adin Thompson

Country Apprentice: Emma Bell

2YO: The Odyssey

3YO: Winning Ways

4YO and Older: Tyzone

Provincial Horse: Mr Attitude

Provincial Trainer: Stuart Kendrick

Provincial Premier Jockey: Justin Stanley

Country Horse: Fab’s Cowboy

Country Premier Trainer: Bevan Johnson

Country Premier Jockey: Dan Ballard

Hall of Fame

Horse: Bore Head

Jockey: Noel Best

Trainer: John Size

Associates: Sir Albert Sakzewski and Pat O’Shea

Related posts