The Meadows joins forces with Healesville as second straight track is set for Victoria

The Melbourne Greyhound Racing Association (MGRA) will soon announce a proposal for a new straight track at its current venue following the commencement of a detailed feasibility study of the proposed site, MGRA Chair, Eddie Caruana and Greyhound Racing Victoria CEO Alan Clayton said today.

Mr Caruana said he and his fellow Directors were excited to be taking the next step to expand the racing program at their track which is the home to some of the nation’s best racing.

In joining Mr Caruana in the announcement, Mr Clayton added that the proposed straight track will be a significant boost for safe racing in Victoria and allow Victoria to present an expanded racing program across 14 tracks instead of the current 13.

“In coming months, The Meadows will provide detailed information on the new track and when it is expected to be operational.

“This is a very exciting initiative for our sport,” he said.

Mr Clayton also announced that following a call for expressions of interest, the GRV Board had approved The Meadows as the new administrator for Healesville Greyhound Racing Association from 1 August this year.

“The Meadows will bring its own very strong capabilities in areas like general administration and track maintenance to support Cynthia O’Brien and her team at Healesville and I look forward to a very productive partnership between the two clubs,” Mr Clayton said.

Healesville Greyhound Racing Association General Manager Cynthia O’Brien said she was excited to work with such a great organisation.

“The Meadows is home to 10 Group One races each year, including– the Maturity Classic, the Silver Chief Classic, the Topgun, Topgun Stayers, the Hume Cup, the Temlee, the Rookie Rebel, the Zoom Top, the Super Stayers and the Australian Cup,” Ms O’Brien said.

“I’m really looking forward to working with Ashley Baker (The Meadows CEO) and his team,” she said.

“I’m also looking forward to working with The Meadows to deliver the National Championships and National Straight Track Championship next year.”


Related posts