Otago awards finalists announced

[et_pb_section fb_built=”1″ _builder_version=”3.22.3″][et_pb_row _builder_version=”3.22.3″][et_pb_column type=”4_4″ _builder_version=”3.0.47″][et_pb_text admin_label=”Article Test” _builder_version=”3.22.4″]

A star studded line up of New Zealand’s best pacers and broodmares will vie for titles at next month’s Otago Harness Racing Awards in Dunedin.

Classy youngsters Princess Tiffany and Ultimate Sniper will take on home town favourites Eamon Maguire and Majestic Man and northerners Speeding Spur and Havtime in the Best Otago Owned Horse category.

Bethany, the dam of Lazarus, One Over Kenny, the dam of Ultimate Stride, and Foreal, the dam of Field Marshal with square off with 100-win producer, Fleet’s Pocket, in the Broodmare Excellence category.

Each of those broodmare’s owners, Gavin Chin, Lex and Heather Williams and Syd and Shona Brown are finalists for Otago Breeder Of The Year alongside Archie Affleck.

Winners of the breeding awards and the Otago Horse Of The Year will be announced at a gala evening at Forbury Park on September 14.

A massive total of 23 titles will be awarded in age group trotting and pacing and training and driving categories.

Winners of the age group trotting and pacing awards will be eligible to be crowned Otago’s horse of the year.

Big race performers Cracker Hill, Ultimate Stride, Majestic Man and Jess Jaccka look to be some of the strongest contenders for the overall title.

More than one significant contribution award will industry members at the Otago awards.

Former champion thoroughbred trainer Dave O’Sullivan will be the guest speaker at the awards.

Tickets are available by contacting Lisa Butler at the Forbury Park Trotting Club on lisa@forburypark.co.nz or 03 455 2154.


Related posts