Early spring raiders arrive in Melbourne

The first European gallopers for the spring carnival have arrived in Melbourne to start their quarantine period at Werribee.

Four of the 18 horses arrived on Friday night and the rest touched down on Saturday afternoon.

Back for a second shot at Melbourne Cup success is last year’s placegetter Prince Of Aran, who arrived on Friday night along with three horses of Godolphin trainer Saeed bin Suroor.

Of the 18 horses, 11 are owned by Australian interests, with six set to remain in Australia and transfer to local stables once their two-week quarantine period is complete.

Ebor Handicap winner Mustajeer, an Australian Bloodstock purchase, is bound for the stable of Kris Lees and is being set towards the Melbourne Cup at Flemington on November 5.

Torcedor, also owned by the Australian Bloodstock syndicate, is joining Paul Preusker’s stable in Horsham while Mirage Dancer is heading to Cranbourne to be prepared by Trent Busuttin and Natalie Young.

Former Aidan O’Brien gallopers Constantinople and Cape Of Good Hope join Lindsay Park, with Aktau joining the Flemington stable of Mike Moroney.

Sixteen horses complete their quarantine on October 12 allowing them to compete that afternoon at Caulfield in races including the Caulfield Stakes (2000m) and the Herbert Power Stakes (2400m).

Not permitted to compete that day are Caulfield Cup contenders Red Verdon, Raymond Tusk and Gold Mount along with Japanese trio Mer De Glace, Lys Gracieux and Kluger (arrivals on Tuesday), who will be free to compete from October 15.


Danceteria – David Menuisier

Mirage Dancer* – Trent Busuttin

Mustajeer* – Kris Lees

Royal Meeting – Saeed bin Suroor

Dream Castle – Saeed bin Suroor

Red Galileo – Saeed bin Suroor

Raymond Tusk – Richard Hannon

Gold Mount – Ian Williams

Red Verdon – Ed Dunlop

Raheen House – William Haggas

Constantinople* – Lindsay Park

Cape Of Good Hope* – Lindsay Park

Torcedor* – Paul Preusker

Haky – John Hammond

Prince of Arran – Charlie Fellowes

True Self – Willie Mullins

Chief Ironside – David Menuisier

Aktau* – Mike Moroney

* Horses joining Australian stables on a one-way ticket.

Related posts